Sustainable You

Sustainability and the Built Environment

Week 6: Energy Vampires

Response due at the beginning of class on 9/24.

"Buy this attitude - Save Energy" Photo by Orocain

"Buy this attitude - Save Energy" Photo by Orocain

Take a glance at this great media article regarding the fact and fictions of energy consumption. The author,Lori Bongiorno, does a great job breaking down “Energy Vampires: Fact versus Fiction.”  I found the information really helpful because I often hear things about what I should be doing, but I don’t really know why I should be doing it, or what is the real benefit, if any.  Articles like this make it easier for me to tackle the fact vs. fiction aspect of energy consumption issues.

After reading the article, ponder and share your thougths with us regarding the following questions:

1. What types of standby power products from the list made by the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) did you see that when compared in the ON/OFF status made you want to consider turning them off when not in use?

2.  Watch the “Lose your excuse” Commercial running on TV right made by the Department of Energy – Share your thoughts on the commercial (see section ACT, then see VIDEOS, the video with April cracks me up). Also, play around the website after you watch the video (Try hitting “PLAY” and play the little video they have for kids) – I only got to level 3 but I appreciate that they are making learning about energy fun for little kids. What are your thoughts about these types of PSA.

3.  Do you think it is important in for your future career to be well educated in the types of energy consumption issues?

Filed under: Sustainable Design

27 Responses

  1. ashley knowlton says:

    1. I was very surprised at the amount of energy the computer notebook uses up when it’s “sleeping”. I knew that it still used up energy but I did not think that it was very much. I always turn my computer on sleep instead of turning it off because then everything is still up when I turn it back on, but now I am just going to turn it off so it uses even less energy and when it is not charging I am going to unplugg the adapter from the wall so energy is not wasted there either.
    I was also baffled to see that by turning the television off with a remote as opposed to manually turning it off used up more energy. I keep trying to figure out how that makes sense because I am sure it does and I am just not figuring it out but I am definitely going to turn my television off by hand now. The difference is rather minimal but anything helps!
    The VCR also uses up almost just as much energy as a television does, which is totally crazy because I figured the screen on the television has to use a lot of energy but apparently not.

    2. I tried to find the commercial but couldn’t. I did play the game for a little bit though. I think it is great that the department of energy is trying to make saving energy fun for kids because they are the future of the world and if they learn early that saving energy is important then they will carry it through in their life as well as teach their children how to save energy and it will carry on.

    3. I think that it is extremely important for interior designers, as well as everyone, to be educated in energy consumption issues because it will convince more people to recommend energy efficient materials, equipment, and other specs. The more we know about energy consumption the more educated we can be when we research and suggest specs.

  2. Megan says:

    Hi Ashley,

    Sorry the commercial wasn’t easy to find, I can’t get a direct link to the file for some reason, but if you go to the website, visit the section ACT, then see VIDEOS, the video with April cracks me up.

    Megan

  3. Jennifer Zerrusen says:

    1. Honestly all of the devices. I was shocked by the coffee maker and the printer. I knew that a lot of those items listed used a large amount of energy, but not that much. the site made me realize though that my room mates waste a lot of energy because there are the four of us and by just seeing how they live in general and leave lights on and everything it is no wonder why our power bill is crazy.

    2. I think that it is great that people are trying to inform kids before they get in really bad habits of wasting energy. I thought the april commercial was really cute because it proves a point that kids can feel guilty about wasting energy and most kids never want to let people down or do anything wrong so they will try to correct themselves or play innocent, just as april did.

    3. I do think it is important to us as future designers. Many families will not only want to be green, but also have lower bills and knowing what items use the most energy even things when they are off. As a result, knowing this information will make us more reliable to clients and only benefit us in the future.

  4. Gloria Valencia-Martin says:

    This list is very helpful; I realized how much standby energy we use at home, it is amazing. One of the appliances that I never thought would use a lot of standby energy is the desktop computer. I turn it off every night, but it is in “sleep” mode all the remaining time that I am not using it. Another item that surprised me was the modem-cable; it uses as much energy when in standby mode as when is off. The difference is remarkable. I realized that I do not use my VCR as much, so I decided to turn it completely off when not in use. I think that saving energy by turning off the TV manually is strange, but I’m going to try to remember it.

    The “Lose your excuse” video is interesting because it shows that we are not taking seriously the role of energy savers because of our bad habits. It is hard to remember to always turn off the computer, the lights, unplug appliances, etc, but we should stop and think of the long term benefit and make it a habit. It is a hard habit as it was to start recycling, but once it is a routine it becomes easy! The video game was hard, I just got into level 4, and it is hard to move on. I guess they are representing how hard it can be for adults to get into the practice of saving energy.

    Interior designers should take into consideration energy savings even though if the client does not ask for it. It is our responsibility to inform and apply energy saving principles to every one of our projects. I think that the electric bill is considerably high in any ordinary household. By applying these ideas and teaching our clients about energy star appliances and other tricks to save energy, we can begin taking small steps toward a healthier and more responsible attitude about energy consumption

  5. Jill Vaughan says:

    1. First of all, I really think it’s funny yet true and disturbing to hear appliances categorized as “vampires.” But like the article states, many appliances do just drain energy 24/7 if left plugged. I did realize that energy is consumed by products even if not in use; however, I never really stopped to think just how much energy was being consumed all together or how much money, etc. could be saved if those products weren’t constantly running. I really wish I could run around and unplug every appliance right after I use it and plug it back in when needed, but could you imagine the chaos and time it would take to get it up and running, reset all the alarms/timers, etc. (right now it just seems impossible – – or at least with most of our hectic schedules). I hope one day we’ll be able to find a way to eliminate energy consumption while products are not in use…that would be convenient.

    2. How CUTE was this website. I’m like Jennifer it’s informative to kids which is great and helps them to realize ways in which they can help save with just the flick of a switch :), but the entire website is great b/c it really seems and strives to make learning fun. I definitely learn better when I’m entertained and intrigued, and the website helped do just that.
    P.S. or maybe it’s just fun and exciting for me b/c I still seem to be playing with the little kid games as I’m reading b/w articles :/ haha…hey but I’m learning!!

    3. I think it is incredibly important to be aware and have the knowledge on energy consumption issues. Especially in our field when we’re the ones that can offer or make the changes for clients, we can scope out and make the difference with designs and help save (if possible) with others as well as ourselves.

  6. Elizabeth Sims says:

    I can’t say I was truly surprised by any of the information presented in the article, but hearing again about the potential savings that can result,coupled with the ever increasing costs of energy , made me realize I’m just not being smart if I don’t try to institute some more of these suggestions immediately. I know I’m guilty (like April) of not unplugging my phone charger after every time I use it- so I’ll attempt to make that into a habit.
    Even though the site’s contents are geared toward children, I found the straight forward facts a refreshing change from the green messages we’re usually force fed that are so often polluted with political agenda they’re hard to even comprehend.
    PSA’s of this nature are a valuable tool for the public, but as soon-to-be design practitioners it is most important we realize not only THAT we need to save energy, but HOW to compile designs in which it’s not even a choice- it merely is.

  7. Eleni Dermatas says:

    Before even reading this article I knew that I can be extremely forgetful and wasteful when it comes to conserving energy. Nothing on this list really shocked me on the list. It is just so interesting to see how much energy is used when objects are not in use. I NEVER think about unplugging my cell phone or computer chargers after using them, they are just constantly plugged in. One thing I will definitley start doing is turning of my power strip that has my tv, dvd player, and cable box plugged into it. The video was great and really informative. I wish someone had shown it to me at a younger age. My parents alway yelled at me to turn off my lights but now that I’m older I have my own house and my own stuff that I am responsible for. They should consider showing the video in classrooms. The education of this kind of stuff is extremely important. If we start at an early age then it will just be a habit and kids won’t even think about it, saving energy will just be what they’re use to. LETS SAVE THE WORLD ONE SWITCH AT A TIME!!!!

  8. Claire Moses says:

    1. Well I’ve heard from people as it showed in this article that a cell phone charger uses so much energy…I absolutely need to be better about unplugging that after I charge my phone. Some nights I will turn my laptop off but others I leave it on and this was a huge waste of energy on that list. The main thing that I was made aware of through this article was about power strips. I always have things plugged into the power strip such as the printer, laptop, camera charger, and so on, but I never flip the switch off at night or when I am not using the electronics. I should be better about that as well!

    2. I thought that was hilarious. It actually makes it interesting and funny, while at the same time being educational. Like I stated in thought 1, this is the main energy user or so I have heard from others, and one that I need to work on. It is a cute site and one that I feel kids can be educated and find interesting facts about what uses energy and what doesn’t use as much.

    3. Since our field is focused on interiors and now sustainability and universal design, I feel like this is a great source of knowledge that we can benefit from. We can suggest helpful hints to the clients and to others on how to save money and I feel like that would be much appreciated.

  9. Katie Crider says:

    1. I need to work on unplugging my cell phone charger because I usually leave it plugged in. I’ve been unplugging my computer when I’m not using it but I also need to be better about this. Some things like my microwave or tv I don’t want to unplug because I think it would bother me to have to reset the time every time I turn it back on.
    2. I like the commercials because they are lighthearted and I think people can connect with them. The energy rescue game was not a great success for me.
    3. I think it’s very important for my future career to be well educated about energy consumption. It is a factor that I often do not think about and so I’m sure many people would appreciate more education in that area.

  10. Caroline Irvin says:

    1. Computer and printer were big things for me. I have a bad tendency to leave my computer on and plugged in all day long and my printer is usually on all the time. It’s something I’ve honestly never thought about until reading that article. I need to work on remembering to unplug my phone charger and computer when I’m not using them. I like the idea from the article that power strips do not draw energy when they are turned off, so the easiest solution would be plugging your plugs into a power strip and simply just switching it off when you leave the house in the morning.
    2. I thought the website was great. It is friendly for all ages, cute, and fun. The game was fun and a great way to reach people!
    3. I think it’s extremely important for our career, but also for everyone, to be well educated in energy consumption issues. However, it is ultimately up to us in the long run to be able to educate our clients about this ongoing issue and provide solutions to the problem.

  11. Kimberly Key says:

    1. Electronics using phantom power is not new knowledge to me. This is something my mama has been telling me for years. She’s so funny though, she unplugs everything even things that don’t use phantom power. Even though I’ve known about it I still forget to unplug things lots of the time. One thing that helps is I have everything at my desk (which is my t.v. dvd player, printer, and my laptop) plugged into a surge protector so when I leave for the weekend I just flip the switch off. That’s made it easier to do even if it’s just when I leave town. I’m going to try to do it more often now that I know those electronics are some of the biggest things that use phantom energy. I never remember to unplug my cell phone charger. I recently got a new cell phone and when I disconnect it from the charger a little reminder pops up on my phone’s screen that reminds me to unplug the charger. I thought that was so neat and very helpful.
    2. That website is so cute. It’s come a long way from the energy bee with the light bulb that I remember from when we were kids. That is definitely something I would have loved as a kid. Even the bee appealed to me. The little game was fun. I think it’s great they are trying to make kids aware because it seems with each generation we are more willing to accept the issues and do or part to help.
    3. I think it is very important for us as designers to know about energy saving issues. Anything we can do to help our clients conserve energy and save money is beneficial especially now. I think it could be an advantage for us in the future as clients become even more aware of living green.

  12. Meredith Kaltz says:

    1. Like a lot of people, I leave my computer plugged in charging all day and night. I never really thought about how bad that is. I’m going to start to unplug it and turn it off while I am asleep or not home. Our printer actually has an energy saving mode, so if it hasn’t been used in a while, it shuts down. That makes me feel better, but I’m sure it is still sucking out some energy. I know the DVR recorder is a big one, but like it said in the article, if it’s unplugged it isn’t recording. So, whats the point? Sorry, I can’t give that one up, but I will make up for it in other areas.

    2. I thought the commercial was cute, those are pretty standard excuses and I’m sure people say them everyday! I wasn’t very good at the game, but I was never really a big “gamer”. I’ll pass it on to my sister though. It is a good way to get kids aware of their energy use at a young age.

    3. I think it’s very important for us to know a lot about this subject in the future. It is our responsibility to spec out energy saving products and to educate our clients on how to help themselves.

    3.

  13. jason reid says:

    1. i’m probably the least technologically savvy person i know– i don’t even own a microwave. and the whole cell phone charger thing is interesting, it uses way less energy than i thought when plugged in but not charging. the main things for me would be to unplug that, especially since it’s easily accessible, unplug my power strip, which would address the issue of the desktop and printer, speakers, etc… also i could certainly completely unplug my tv, which i never watch anyway, and that would also take care of the dvd as well. and i think that’s pretty much it. for the record, i think it’s kind of funny that i scored the worst on that body burden quiz a few weeks ago, though i don’t even have a microwave and that was one of the worst on this list. but whatever i’m not bitter.

    2. the lose your excuse psas were awesome, especially since they targeted younger folks. and yes, april was too funny. she reminds me of me when i was her age. as for the video game, rosemary called and interrupted my game, causing me to die the first time. then that crazy monster kept running into me, so i died again like 5 more times. then i quit. which has nothing to do with my personal sensitivity to energy conservation. but it’s definitely a way to get kids thinking about these issues in a fun way for sure.

    3. as designers we certainly have a responsibility to be aware of energy consumption, even when our clients are not. in these cases, i think we can steer them in certain directions when purchasing products, even simple things like planning on where outlets should be located in order to better access them so electronics can be easily unplugged. a designer’s job is never done!

  14. Leah Williams says:

    1. I had heard about unplugging electronic devices to save energy about a year ago I guess. I unplug my phone charger, computer charger, and my printer stays in the closet until I need it. I get paranoid when I’m going to be away for a while and even unplug my ‘wallflower’, coffee pot, blender, etc.

    2. April was cracking me up and the commercial was cute. Excuses, excuses…we all have them! We just have to improve in saving energy! I wasn’t great at playing the game, but it was fun. I died alot.

    3. Since we are designers- I feel like we should inform clients of easy solutions to conserve energy. So many people just don’t think about it when purchasing the product, and the use of the product.

  15. Leah Williams says:

    ok i could become addicted to this game. i haven’t played a video game in a long time.. and now I now why. hahaha. Good thing they came out with Wii and being active or I would be the laziest person alive.

  16. Jaclyn Butler says:

    1. My cell phone charger was a big one. The best thing about my apartment is that we only have one printer between three people to save energy and we only have one TV with a separate cable box and DVD player. We also don’t own a landline phone which helps with energy. The worst thing about my apartment is that a lot of the problem areas (microwave, TV, etc.) are things we can’t reach to unplug because they are built in. And we all own separate laptops, which are major energy buzz kills. But from now on, I am going to unplug my charger, coffee pot and computer when not in use.

    2. I loved the game!! I think this website is a great resource for parents and children because it allows children a chance to ask questions that they might not have thought about before and it opens the conversation up for parents about energy conservation. The ‘Create’ area is so much fun as well because children can make their own posters and icons. All and all, a lot of fun…and addictive!

    3. YES! I think as designers we need to be well advised on the dangers of the products that are out there. And once we begin educating ourselves, we can make better choices for our clients and continue the learning process. Just like with Denney Tower, if we make better energy choices and educate the residences, then they will impact the world better and hopefully continue the cycle. In our profession there is a lot of luxury to what we offer. I think this is the area where our profession is not based on luxury but necessity for the future generations. It is important for everyone because we will all affect the environment, no matter how big or small.

  17. Rachel Vaccaro says:

    1.) The amount of energy that these everyday products are using when not on is shocking, however it makes perfect sense that anything with a digital clock will still need to use energy in order to display the time. Same with the Tv needing to use energy when it’s not on to interact with the remote controls buttons. I definitely want to start using more power strips.
    2.) Both commercials were very cute and a great way to enlighten consumers. These are the types of commercials that people will remember after they have seen them because they are funny and memorable, and that is what the company is trying to accomplish,hopefully the consumer will continue thinking about energy consumption after they have seen this commercial.
    I also played they kids game and that is an awesome way to help children understand what energy is and ways they can consume it. I also thought it was cute that the ” BAD” guys were excuses. Unfortunately they got me at the 3rd level.
    3.) I do think that it is important to know how certain items react to energy to better our career especially if we are interested in sustainable design. It would also help in designing, like where to place items so that we can group them in order to be able to use power strips whenever possible. It is also just good info to know in order to help the environment by saving energy and therefore we can save money on our bills.

  18. Katie Applefield says:

    I recently began unplugging my cell phone charger and my electric tooth brush charger when they are not in use and i am soooo glad! I heard about appliances and other electronic devices using energy when they are plugged in, but not in use from Oprah a few years ago. It was a big shock to see how much energy my computer, vcr, and tv are using when they are just plugged in and not being used. I know my powerstrip is eatting up alot of energy because it is connected to my lamp, alarmclock/ radio, printer, computer, and cell phone charger! I know it is lazy, but I do not unplug some electronic devices because then I will have to re-set the time. When I go on vacation, I do unplug as any appliances and devices as possible.
    I loved the April commercial and I have seen it on t.v before and I think that it does a great job of showing something that kids and teens can really relate to and understand. Most people use their cell phone charger for maybe one hour a day yet they leave it plugged in all the time. I think that if you can’t get people to unplug or turn off appliances and electronic devices by telling them how much it improves the earth, then you should tell them how much money it is adding to their electric bill and utilities each month!
    I believe that it is a huge part of our job as interior designers to educate our clients about energy consumption issues. People are obviously interested in learning more about being “green” and sustainable because since the recession, green jobs have actually increased instead of decreased like every other area of employment. Employers, companies, and consumers are all interested in energy consumption issues and I think that since we are somewhat educated in this area, that we should put time into teaching others what we know. I know that I would love the opportunity to work with an environmentally friendly company that either already practices green living or that is open to learning how to improve their energy consumption and is eager to learn about the issues we face today with energy.

  19. Deanna Kamal says:

    1. I was definitely most surprised by the charger. The other standby power percentages I was slightly more prepared for. From around middle school on, I can remember my dad always telling us to shut light and fans off before me leave a room, shut down the computer, turn off the printer, etc. I would like to say that he was ahead of the curve in terms of energy consumption awareness, but I’m pretty sure he says those things to save a little money. By default, we save energy too! So that works out great for everyone. I really do need to start unplugging my cell phone charger. In fact, I just did. Another thing I’d like to remember to do is unplug certain electronics, like my clock radio, when I go away on vacations.

    2. The videos were cute, simple, and informative. I really enjoyed them both and feel they would definitely draw the attention of a child, teen, and even adult. They are just long enough to informative, yet they quickly make their point. I also played the energy rescue game and made it to the 4th level where I would proceed to lose all 3 of my lives. Regardless, I enjoyed playing the game and believe kids would without a doubt enjoy playing it too, even while learning! Lastly, I played around in the Create area of the site where you can make desktop wallpaper, badges, posters, etc. I enjoyed this too.

    3. Yes I definitely do. Not only is our society moving in a direction of greater awareness and incorporation of green products, energy saving actions, sustainability, etc., but to save energy does not mean you need to devote an excessive amount of time to the cause. Anyone can save energy daily by just turning an unused light off, unplugging a cell phone charger, turning a computer monitor off, etc. It’s that simple. So yes, I think it is definitely important that we, as designers, are educated in energy consumption so that we are able to present simple and logical suggestions to our clients.

  20. Sara McCullough says:

    I never thought about the energy we consumer when things were turned off until it was brought to my attention in the Green Goes with Everything book. That book first made me think about plugging my electronics into power adapters that I can turn on an off. This list really surprised me though because I never turn my printer off because its the only clock in my room and I didn’t think it was pulling that much energy just sitting there. I will say, that I am really good about not plugging in my computer until it is almost dead and unplugging it when it is fully charged cause I have his weird battery issue. this article has made me want to go buy power adapters this weekend though!
    I think this website is really cool (minus the creepy background music)!! This commercials are hilarious and I think they do a wonderful job at advertising to a younger generation. It is very important that we start teaching kids at a young age this important issues so that when they grow up it will be second nature to them and not even an issue. Also, its hard to teach an older person to change certain habits so targeting young kids is more effective.
    As for whether or not energy consumption knowledge is important for our future careers, all I can say is YES, YES, and YES! I think the more we know about conserving the resources we have right now is only going to help us. I was talking to my roommates dad that builds houses and he was saying that he thinks in the next ten years people will only be building and remolding “green” homes. He also said that any class I can take to learn more about building “green” will only help me. Many people are saying that the “green” movement is just a fad, but I think that it is a fad that is seriously influencing people to change their habits so that we can live a healthier, cleaner life.

  21. Heather says:

    Haha “This isn’t my room”…. good distraction 🙂 I always thought that my hair dryer sucked energy when I left it plugged in, so it was surprising to learn that it actually doesn’t. I hadn’t ever thought about my phone charger sucking energy though. That’s one thing I might consider unplugging during the day when I’m not using it. Although, the outlet is behind the bed, so it’s a little hard to reach. I’ll probably have to relocate..

    That game is really hard!! I only got to level 4 😦 I’m not a video game person though…Brandon’s always trying to get me to play Halo with him. I feel bad because he always gets rejected with some comment about how dumb his games are…. don’t tell him, but I’m just not good at it! That website does get the message across in a way that’s easy to understand for kids. One day Olivia will kick my butt at avoiding the excuses and sucking up the energy 🙂

    I think it’s super important to know how we consume energy and how we can improve. It’s just like any other sustainable feature, but this one can save you money! I think that’s a big selling point for people. I know my dad switched to CFLs when he learned how much his electric bill would be reduced. I totally agree with Jason’s 3rd statement too–placing outlets is a big deal, and, yes, a designer’s job is never done!

  22. Meredith Mullis says:

    1. I was really suprised at the ammount of energy consumption that a phone charger uses when not plugged into the phone so thats definitely one I would consider unplugging. I also thought the power tools one was crazy because my husband leaves his drill plugged up all the time so we will need to do something about that as well. Finally, the computer sleep energy consumption was suprising as well because I actually thought I was saving energy who knew?

    2. This website is super cute and fun for everyone. I enjoyed the game so I think kids definitely will. I also think that its good that they are thinking about how to educate future generations on critical issues like this one in a fun way versus the scare tactics most companies use.

    3. I do think it is important in our field to have an idea about energy consumption issues so that we can educate our less knowledgable clients on ways they can save energy. Saving energy means saving money and I haven’t met a client yet that doesn’t care about saving money!

  23. Lia Moraitakis says:

    I’ve recently heard about how much energy is used when you leave appliances on or idle. I’ve gotten better about turning my power strips off (for my hairdryer, straightener, etc) when they are not in use or unplugging things when I go away on the weekends. One bad habit that’s hard to kick is fully shutting down my lap top at night. I always leave it on so I don’t have to wait for it to start up in the morning (I’m not very patient). I don’t turn off appliances like coffee makers, microwaves, and toaster ovens because it is inconvenient.

    April reminds me of my mom actually. This is more of a personal problem but she doesn’t like to take blame for petty things like that. I’ll tell her some sort of energy saving advice and she’ll agree to change her ways, but she doesn’t act on it. Maybe if I sat her down with a website that’s designed for a 3rd grader she’ll be able to absorb more of what I’m trying to tell her.

    I absolutely think that being educated on energy consumption issues is imperative in our field and just in general, especially with the growing economic and environmental problems today economic

  24. 1. Some products that stood out to me that use standby power are TVs and cable boxes. TVs used nearly the most energy when turned off but still plugged in, which is very easy to fix in my house because I do not use my TV at all during the day while I’m at class or out running errands, etc. Therefore, I can save a lot of my own energy use by simply unplugging it. My cable is DVR and if I unplug it, I will lose all my recorded movies/shows for that day, however after I graduate I plan to not have this kind of cable box b/c of the expenses- concerning energy usage and the price per month of having the DVR box. I was also amazed to see how much energy alarm clocks use up, b/c most people around the world use them. It would be nice if companies would come up with an alarm clock that is either more energy efficient or that automatically resets itself each time it is turned on. My mom has an Apple product that works off a satellite and whenever the power goes out it will automatically reset itself to the time and date, alarm time, etc, when the power comes back on. This would definitely encourage people to unplug the items when they are out of the house.
    2. I think that this website is very cute and fun- It’s great that people are trying to reach out to younger generations about being environmentally conscious. I enjoyed the website so I guess it can be appreciated by all ages.
    3. I think it is very important to be aware of ways to further decrease my footprint on the environment in terms of what I consume. This is especially important for my career in the future because I will be suggesting/selling products to clients for their households/companies, therefore I need to pick products that are energy efficient and pass my knowledge on to as many people as I can in order to make a bigger difference.

  25. Mallory Gibbs says:

    I am shocked about how many energy stuff sucks when not in use, but still plugged in! I am going to immediately start turning off and unplugging both my computer and tv. I cannot believe how much a desktop LCD screen uses when on. My boyfriend has two big monitors side by side (he’s a nerd) that he never ever ever turns off or unplugs!! I need to tell him immediately..haha.\
    I think the commercials are so cute. I also really appreciate how they are reaching how to the kids. I haven’t seen these commercials yet on tv but I really hope they start playing them often. I also think they should start singing jingles! I love Freecreditreport.com jingles. I almost know all the words to all of them!
    I do think it is important for us to know ways to conserve energy so we can pass along these “tidbits” to our clients. Also if we are working for a builder or something, if we can ensure him that we are trying to design efficiently in all areas of design, he would like this, AND he could advertise this to his future homeowners. I think knowing this type of information is great for us as well as our clients!

  26. Rachel Lawrence says:

    1. Unplugging my cell phone charger and other electrical items is something I need to be better at. I leave it plugged into the wall all the time. The article talk about using a power strip and I do keep a lot of things plugged into power strips but I never turn it off or on. So that’s kinda pointless. I need to get better at that.
    2. That commercial was so funny, it makes it interesting and fun to watch but at the same time it’s really educational. It’s a really cute way to get the facts across and teach people about how to save energy
    3. I think that because our field is all about interiors, universal design, and sustainability I think that’s its really important to our field. I think its important for us to know how to save energy and to be able to educate our clients on how they can save energy after your done with a project.

  27. Dannon says:

    I was really surprised by the consumption of energy a microwave uses when cooking..1433 watts!! however when it is in stand by mode it only consumes 2watts which is a significant amount but my microwave is one that is over the oven and can’t be easy unplugged. Although, my scanner on the other hand when off is using 2.48watts when i only use it once in a blue moon. I am unplugged this vampire right now. I need to probably do the same for my printer.

    I loved the commercial..it is good to direct it towards kids so they can learn early about energy saving and then pass the saving on to their parents if they don’t know. The game was fun i can’t believe there are 25 levels! i could not get very far keep running into excuses

    Learning and knowing about energy saving is key for our future careers. Implementing ideas about energy conservation will only help our environment, we as a nation are energy hogs! we need to all be more informed about ways to use less energy.

Leave a Reply

