Sustainable You

Sustainability and the Built Environment

FACS House HOA

Time to pull out those overalls and get a little dirty for the community!

After meeting with the lovely Ms. Emma Jean, we know that we will be able to make some much needed improvements to her home located in the eastside of Athens during the weekend of Hands on Athens (April 3, 4, 5, 2009)!  The home (see photos below) is in need of repair soffits and fascia, some siding replaced, exterior paint, interior wall repair in kitchen, new kitchen cabinets and countertop, plumbing fixtures repaired in bathroom, exterior screen door, and squirrel proofing the roof.  The students of TXMI 5310 (Advanced Design Methods) are asking for your volunteer efforts to make this weekend a success for Ms. Emma Jean.

Shifts available include (please feel free to sign up for multiple shifts):

April 3rd, Friday

  1. 8am-12pm morning shift
  2. 12pm-1pm Lunch
  3. 1pm – 5pm afternoon shift

April 4th, Saturday

  1. 8am-12pm morning shift
  2. 12pm-1pm Lunch
  3. 1pm – 5pm afternoon shift

April 5th, Sunday

  1. 8am-12pm morning shift
  2. 12pm-1pm Lunch
  3. 1pm – 5pm afternoon shift

We welcome your family and friends, please encourage your friends and family to volunteer.  We look forward to a great weekend and helping the homeowner, Ms. Emma Jean improve her home.

If you are interested in volunteering please  contact Dr. Megan Lee at meganlee@uga.edu to RSVP by April 2nd.   Please include the following information:

  1. Name
  2. Email
  3. Phone #
  4. Please share what construction related skills you have (i.e. painting, demo, carpentry, cabinet install).  All skill levels are welcome!
  5. The above information for any family or friends you are bringing
Filed under: Sustainable Design

16 Responses

  1. Gloria Valencia-Martin says:

    Hands on Athens is a great opportunity for students to get involved in the community. It works for everyone: for the house owner, the University of Georgia, and for students since it can be listed as part of our community service on ours resumes. I’m very excited about this project; I hope to see you all there!

  2. Sloan Rhodes says:

    I’m planning on coming Sunday, probably for the afternoon shift. Hope some people will join me!

  3. Eleni Dermatas says:

    I would love Friday morning. I’ll be gone that weekend and really want to do this!

  4. Meredith Kaltz says:

    I will definitely be there Friday for the afternoon shift and hopefully Saturday afternoon too! My roommates want to help too!

  5. ashley knowlton says:

    My family and I will be there Saturday afternoon and we’re all looking forward to getting down and dirty in helping Emma Jean!!

  6. Heather says:

    I think we’ll be there on Saturday…Sunday if no one else is coming then. I’m so glad we got materials for the kitchen!!

  7. Mallory Gibbs says:

    I will be there! don’t know which day yet…I guess just whenever extra people are needed!!

  8. Meredith Mullis says:

    HOA rocks and I will definitely be there! Friday morning is the only shift that will work for me b/c I will be out of town that weekend but I think it will be a great opportunity to make someone’s life a lot better with just a little bit of effort!

  9. Caroline Irvin says:

    I am really looking forward to helping out with this! I will definitely be there Friday afternoon, and Saturday morning if I am not out of town. I think it will be a great experience for everyone!

  10. Lia Moraitakis says:

    I will be there Friday afternoon from 1-5pm! I am going out of town on Saturday and I’m looking forward to this!

  11. Jaclyn Butler says:

    I am going to be out of town for the rest of the weekend, so I would LOVE to be assigned for Friday because I think this is a great opportunity to get involved! And its going to be fun!!

  12. Jill Vaughan says:

    Friday morning would be best for me as well…I am so excited to work with others and help renovate for Ms. Emma Jean. I can’t wait!! 🙂

  13. Eleni Dermatas says:

    Hey guys! Here is what the Brandrud rep (shes my bff) said when I asked her about removable seat cushions and alternatives for those w/o:
    Eleni,

    The lounge section of our price list is on pages 133-142.

    In this section it notes under the pricing whether the seat and back cushions are loose (removable) or tight (fixed).

    Loose cushions do have an additional cleanability advantage in that the cushions can be removed and replaced. However, to help protect from spills/accidents there are other steps that can be taken such as specifying a Vinyl/Crypton on the seat or whole unit, adding a moisture barrier, etc.

    We are also working on a new Lounge piece that should be released in 2009, and one of the features is a clean-out gap in the back of the chair. Spills and crumbs are guided to this hole, so sediment can be swept up or vacuumed away.

    If you have any questions about this prototype chair, please start by contacting Kitty/Spencer as we try to limit direct discussion on prototype projects.

    Thanks,

    Francis

  14. Claire Moses says:

    I would love to come for the morning shift on Friday, I don’t know if that time slot would still be available but that would be great!!! 🙂

  15. Jennifer Zerrusen says:

    I would love to work friday morning, and can’t wait to help out the community. However, I am very limited in the skills I can offer, but would love to help anyway I can 🙂

  16. Elizabeth Sims says:

    I’ll see you guys there Saturday afternoon- I’m excited we’ll finally be able to put some of our technical knowledge to physical use!

Leave a Reply

