Sustainable You

Sustainability and the Built Environment

Green Expo Extra Credit

On Saturday, Jan 28, Athens is hosting the Green Life Athens Expo at the Classic Center.  I highly encourage you to attend the event.  By vising the website you’ll see that there are some great seminars.  Dr. Vick is presenting about Future of Green Buildings (which should be a great presentation).  But there are many other that should be interesting as well, plus you can easily recycle your batteries and electronics at this event. I always have this huge bag of batteries in my drawer that need to be disposed of properly but I never have anywhere to take them easily.

Now, about the extra credit points, I will give you 10 points, and to earn the 10 pts you must do the following.

1) Show me a phone photo or camera photo of you at the Green life expo (you can just show me the photo in class). You know, a picture of you by a sign of the event or a booth.

2) For each session you attend you must write a re-cap of what you learned from the presenation:

2a. Who was the presenter? or What was the event you attended.

2b. what was the topic presented?

2c.  List 3-5 things you learned during this seminar/event session?

2d.  Did you feel this presenter was “objective” or did you feel like they were “preaching” to you?  Did you respond positively or negatively to their message?

3. You can post your response on this post as a comment.

Filed under: Sustainable Design

6 Responses

  1. Katherine Holland says:

    1. Went to the Athens Green Life Expo and took a picture.
    2a. Ellison Fidler
    2b. “Green Your Landscape Without Greening Your Stream.”
    2c. *Chemicals can be harmful in storm water runoff from your landscaping.
    *Anything that goes into storm drains can go directly into your local lake or river.
    *It is illegal to dump your waste and dirty water into storm drains.
    2d. I felt the presenter was objective considering the seriousness of this issue. I did not feel preached to in this seminar. I feel waste runoff is serious and can strongly effect peoples health. My response to Ellison’s message was positive and will make me more aware of what I dump out from now on.

  2. Ari Strickland says:

    I went to the Green Life expo Saturday morning before work. I’m pretty sure no speakers were there at the time I was so i didn’t get to catch a seminar. I did however check out the Sandy Creek exhibit. My friend, Katie is interning there and she let me hold the Bearded Dragon and some nasty giant cockroach. Those were the things I had pictures with. I thought the whole display was wonderful and very hands on and informational. There wasn’t much about “sustainability” per se.. but they are all about keeping the natural environment safe and healthy..which is the base of sustainability so scratch that. I didn’t have a whole lot of time to explore like I really wanted too, but it’s definitely something I would like to return to next year.

  3. Hannah Greenberg says:

    I was only able to make it to the end of the Green Life Expo. At this point, there were no speakers, and a lot of people were cleaning up. However, I walked around and grabbed some flyers. I learned about a new type of pest control that was developed, NorPest Green. This pest control is made out of earth based, botanical products that are not harmful to the earth. This type of pest control reminds me of the Cradle2Cradle idea. We are taking something that we already have from the earth and using that, keeping the process going, rather than creating a new harmful pesticide. Overall, I thought the expo was interesting. It is something that I would not normally attend, so I am glad I did.

  4. Samantha says:

    I sat in and listened to the “Future of Green Buildings” by Dr. Vick. His power point showcased several building in the Atlanta and Athens area that were the “poster children” of sustainable building. One building in particular, the Southface Eco Office Campus located in downtown Atlanta, is possibly the best example of a sustainable structure in the southeast. It is the closest tangible structure to the “ideal”. What is that ideal you may ask? Well, Dr. Vick presented a graph depicting where we are (technology wise) today, where we are headed, and where we need to be. The ideal building is not just reducing its consumption, it is not just sustainable, but it is a structure that has a net energy consumption and waste of ZERO. Even looking further in the future beyond that, Vick envisioned a world in which buildings not only left a net zero carbon footprint, but even structures that gave back to the Earth in an effort to rebuild some of what has been degraded. Futuristic images of homes independent of the energy grid filled the latter half of his power point. Vick highlighted the new innovations in grey water recycling. One slide that stuck with me was the computer generated image of a housing design that directed the flow of waste water down a terraced pathway into a swampy lake. Natural decomposers and nitrogen fixing bacteria would filter and naturally treat runoff water from our showers, sinks, and bathrooms. He was also cognizant of the reality and complications associated with some of these ecofriendly designs. There is a slight paradox attached to all these potential earth-friendly designs. They require a low-density area and look better when all you can see is green for miles. These homes are made for suburban or even rural life, where space is not a limiting factor. However, urban sprawl is a major contributor to fuel consumption. The daily commute to work from suburban areas makes transportation a gas-guzzling activity. There are issues with urban city life as well. The high density areas take a larger toll on the ground beneath them. High demand for goods and services leave most of the environment paved with cement sidewalks and streets. The plus is a shorter length for those goods and services to travel. He closed his lecture with several examples of futuristic sustainable designs that could be placed in an urban setting. Overall it was a great lecture and I hope to see some of those designs put to use in the near future.

  5. Adam Nowaczyk says:

    I spoke with Luis Imery who is a builder of Earthcraft homes here in Athens. Earthcraft homes are designed in such a way that they are more environmentally friendly and consume less resources in their operation.

    I didn’t go to his talk, but instead talked directly with him. I went to every table at the expo, so I was there for about an hour or so.

    I learned that Mr. Imery is the owner of the two Earthcraft homes in my neighborhood, which he hasn’t been able to sell for the price he’s looking for because of the market, they are however rented out. I learned that the lighter colored roofs help to deflect the sunlight helping the home stay cool in the summer. I also learned that in the actual construction of the home that the way the beams are placed can make a difference in energy efficiency.

    I didn’t get the sense that any of the presenters/representatives were subjective or preaching in any way. They let the science and facts speak for themselves, which is always a more convincing argument. I responded positively to all of the representatives, there was one booth that dealt with paints that were clearly trying to sell me something I wasn’t interested in… I hate being “sold” to.

  6. Laney Haag says:

    2a. While I was at the Green Life Expo there were no speakers but I did talk to someone at the Junk South booth.
    2b. Junk South is a company that removes unwanted “junk” from various kinds of properties. Since they knew Christie (my friend who tagged along with me) and I are college students they were telling us about the services they could provide us when we move out of our house.
    2c. I learned that Junk South partners with charities like The Salvation Army and the Athens Area Homeless Shelter. Junk South had a donation space at the Expo where all donations would go to Habitat for Humanity. I also learned that they reuse or recycle over 85% of all of the junk they collect.
    2d. I felt like the guy who we were speaking with was more interested in getting our business than just informing us about the company. Since I think the company is doing a great thing, I did not respond to him negatively. After moving out of my apartment last year, the dumpsters were overflowing with furniture that could have been reused if a company like Junk South would have handled it.

Leave a Reply

